Change is in the air….


Things in my life have been changing fast this year.  Some changes are small some are large, some were planned, some were not.  Change is just a part of life so we will roll with it and make the best of things that have come.

That said, I have a dear friend who recently started using more natural methods for just about everything.  Normally I would politely listen to her ideas and be supportive because she was so excited about it, but this time, I actually started to think….that makes sense.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not going vegan, I am not 100% organic, and I am not going to turn my back on modern western medicine… BUT I am willing to give some of it a try.  1 small change at a time I will take you through my journey.

So here we go….

Today I made my own Fresh Orange Cleaning Spray.  It was so simple that is is actually sad that I have been paying for it!  First I made my little one her favorite after dinner snack… oranges!  This time though, instead of throwing away a big bowl full of peels, I took them and stuffed them into a spray bottle I got for $1 then poured some vinegar over top and closed it up!  All you gotta do now is give it a shake and wait…. in a few days it will be ready to to use!   REALLY, that’s all it takes!  It smells great, is virtually free and takes so little effort it is laughable… not to mention there are no chemicals so even the kiddo can help around the house without having to worry about her berating it in!

The other new thing I started today is just as simple, I promise!  I started saving my used k-cups instead of tossing them in the trash!   First off…why would I want to do this? Well there are a ton of things you can do with them if you check out this blog you can get some more ideas…  For me, I am going to use them as seed starter cups.  So first you will want to get a bowl or bucket with a lid.  Now starting at the puncture hole pull off and discard the foil top, then dump the used grounds into your bowl and reach in with your fingers to pull out the filter paper…toss that into your bowl as well.  Now just wash your hands and give that little plastic cup a rinse and you are done!  See, I told you it was easy!  You have now accomplished 2 things: 1 you have a cup that you can fill with soil and start yours seeds in, and 2 you have also started a compost pile and you haven’t spent a penny to do it!!  Y ou will eventually need to transfer the contents of your bowl to a compost bin, pile, or container outside in some fashion, but that is a blog entry for a warmer day… for now we will just keep the bowl going! 🙂

For a TON more information like this and all sorts of other natural ways of living, check back here often, and check out Shari’s Pure and Simple.  She is simply amazing!!!!  Find Her on Facebook here.

Leave a comment